British Championships In Castle Douglas! Thu, 5th May 2022

Home | News | British Championships In Castle Douglas!

At the end of June we have the exciting prospect of being host town for the British Road Race Championships!

The championships will begin with the time-trials, starting and finishing on the picturesque Crichton Estate in Dumfries, with riders taking in Caerlaverock Castle and Nature Reserve on Thursday 23 June. Ethan Hayter and Anna Henderson will look to defend their titles, having won their first senior time-trial titles in Tealby last year.

The circuit races will then take place on Friday 24 June on a fast but technical 1km circuit around the historic port town of Kirkcudbright. Lincoln-based Jo Tindley took a famous home victory in the 2021 championships, while Hayter added to his time-trial title in a thrilling battle under the lights.

Finally, the road races will start and finish in Castle Douglas on Sunday 26 June, which successfully hosted a round of the Tour Series in 2021 and the finish of the first stage of the Tour of Britain in 2016. The route will pass through the centre of Castle Douglas a number of times during each race, while also taking in the challenging local terrain. Pfeiffer Georgi won her debut national champions’ jersey in Lincoln last year, while Ben Swift will be looking to make it a hat-trick of titles in Castle Douglas after victories in 2019 and 2021.

Below Left : Tour of Britain 2016, Andre Griepel | Below Right: Tour Series 2021, Megan Barker

This site uses cookies.
ConfigureHide Options
Read our privacy policy

This site uses cookies for marketing, personalisation, and analysis purposes. You can opt out of this at any time or view our full privacy policy for more information.